Bad elevator design meets stupid lady.

I was assigned to a project at one of our clients’ offices. On short notice and right after having returned from my honeymoon. No sales work for the moment, no stupid co-workers or interns. Very pleasant. Except for one thing: elevators.

My (temporary) office is on the top floor of the building. Tall building. I usually take the stairs on my way down after work, if time permits. When time is an issue, though, i.e. before work, or during lunch breaks, meetings, etc., I must rely on the elevators. And they have a major design flaw: too-easy-to-push-buttons on the wall, too far inside the elevator.

Every once in a while somebody leans against the buttons and hits (usually just) a small number of them by accident. I have gotten into a habit already of warning people about the buttons. Like today, when this lady’s purse kept hitting the button that re-opens the doors. She looked up, turned around, took her purse off her shoulder, appologized, turned back around, and then leaned against the wall in such a stupid way that she hit all (!) of the buttons with her ass and back. This caused the f**king elevator to stop at every level on the way up. What a waste of time.

4 Responses to Bad elevator design meets stupid lady.

  1. secretgeek says:

    Guess elevators should have a reset button.

  2. notmarcus says:

    They should.
    Some elevators on other wings of the building actually have a security override that can be activated with a key. For the top bosses that never travel without bodyguards, not even inside the building. But although I work on the top floor I’m afraid I’m not special (at risk) enough.

  3. Luke says:

    But this gave you the chance to leave the evelator after you went one floor down and then take the stairs. As you did, didn’t you?

  4. notmarcus says:

    Down? Up! I was on my way up. Sure I would have walked had I been on my way down, but up: no way.

Leave a comment